You still want to see if you can make it to the 2017 Second Seder? Well, sign up here to be on the waiting list and we will keep you posted!
To go sign up for the waiting list, please click here.Purim is over, and Pesach is coming!I am delighted to invite you to the T'chiyah Community (Second) Seder on Tuesday, April 11! Our second seder is always a major wonderful event in the life of Congregation T'chiyah, and we especially look forward to welcoming you to T'chiyah if you have not been with us before.The absolute hard and fast deadline for responses is April 1 (not an April Fool's joke!) and registration may close even sooner than that, as we can accommodate no more than 70 at Mondry. We hope that you will join us!SCROLL TO THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE TO RSVP.I (Roz) will make food, beverage, and Seder plate assignments right after the RSVP deadline and we know the number of people attending.Time: Arrive no later than 6:00 pm to drop off your food/beverage contributions (to be assigned later when I know how many we will be). The seder will begin at 6:30.Location: David and Miriam Mondry Building (handicap accessible), 15000 West Ten Mile Road (between Coolidge and Greenfield Roads), Oak Park, MI 48237Parking: It is the building on the right as you enter the Oak Park Jewish Community Center Campus. Turn right, park, and enter the entrance that is furthest east/right. There is also parking elsewhere on the Campus, so feel free to park in other lots as necessary though you will have to walk a short distance to get to our entrance.And some have asked for a specific list of food prohibitions. They follow. In addition, all items purchased (wine, cookies, candy, etc.) must be Kosher for Passover.From Wikipedia:The Torah (Exodus 13:3) prohibits Jews from eating chametz during Passover. Chametz is only leaven made from the "five grains": wheat, spelt, barley, shibbolet shu'al (two-rowed barley, according to Maimonides; oats according to Rashi) or rye.In addition, these are not permitted during Passover: foods referred to generically as "legumes" include rice, corn, soy beans, string beans, peas, lentils, mustard, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. Even though kitniyot cannot technically become chametz, Ashkenazi Jews do not eat them on Passover. Quinoa is permitted.